2 years late…

2 years ago, Sara from Colette Pattern shared Sorbetto, a free pattern, that the whole sew-blogosphere made… except me! Since late is better than never, I decided to give it a try. It’s a free easy pattern of a basic tank that can be customised, what could possibly go wrong?

IMGP8425My teasing from MMM’13 challenge…

As I said, it’s a very basic pattern. The pleat is normally sewn for the entire length of the top but I decided to sew it only to cover my breast and make it looser. Winnie’s version inspired me (except she reversed the pleat).

It’s a very fast project! It took me only an afternoon to complete it. Making and sewing the bias took me most of the time, but I am not fast with that. I used French seams for a neat finish. For the size, while I am a size 6, I cut the pattern to a size 4 and started doubting, so I added 5/8″ of each to each side. I also added about 1.5″ for the length. For my next version, I will stick to a size 4 with no modification and add a least 2″ at the bottom. I will also have to lower the darts by about 1.5″ since there are too high for my chest (I call that the “Belladone drama”. Don’t worry, you will hear about it pretty soon because it drove me really crazy).

IMGP8430

Mr Hubby told me it looks like a maternity top :S Obviously, some people don’t know what “loose fit” means!

As for the fabric, it is a light cotton fabric, a dot jacquart with some glitters (you have to be very close to see it) I bought from Fabric Mart. I initially wanted to used it to sew a Belladone dress for a wedding but I changed my mind after delivery when I saw the color (by the way, the wedding is at the end of the month, the dress has to be done before we fly away to France in 2 weeks and so far, I still don’t have a dress. Me late?? Naaahh). This is definitely not my usual color, it looks very bold but I have to say, I like it a lot. It’s a nice change in my wardrobe! 🙂

And the great part with that pattern? It doesn’t ask for much fabric, which means I can use my huge scrap fabric from previous dresses! So you will see more of these during the summer!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

