Knitting for Mr Hubby

Finally, after more than 2 years sewing and knitting, I was able to convince Mr Hubby to sew/knit something for him other that a wooly hat and a phone case. It was not an easy job to find something that interested him and matched my technical requirements (it has to be fun for me), but we (I?) ended up with a cardigan from Cookie A: Chicane.

Pattern: Chicane by Cookie A

It’s basic enough for Mr Hubby and fun with the sleeves for me. And Mr Hubby doesn’t have any cardigan left since the last one (a very beautiful one in a gorgeous wool) shrinked after being washed at the wrong temperature :S (apologies to my mother-in-law, I didn’t do it on purpose and was very sad when that happened). So we had a deal! And this is how I started a long and annoying journey. I’m so glad I’m done!

You may wonder why I found it annoying?
Well, after I finished knitting the bottom rib, the instructions said: work on stockinette stitch until you have knitted 17″. That was way too long for me, considering men don’t need to have waist and bust shaped. It was 17″ of doing exactly the same thing ūüė¶

Also, I have to confess, I am not a big fan of the instructions. This is a bottom-up cardigan knitted in 3 pieces. As I hate seaming knit, I immediately changed that in one piece. I replaced some BO while shaping shoulders by short rows, the work is much more beautiful and neat! And rather that seaming front and back shoulders, I used the 3-needle binding technique. Much neater.
One detail bothered me a lot: I kept replacing a lot of K2tog by SSK stitches, and vice versa, since the design made much more sense that way. And to end it all, I didn’t understand a word of the zipper edge explanation, so I skipped that part! (yes, I’m like that).

But look at my work, this doesn’t looks bad?

IMGP8128m

¬†IMGP8123mThe sleeves are too long after blocking ūüė¶

IMGP8124

(Disclaimer: for the purpose of this blog, no husband has been abused or underfed. Mr Hubby is naturally very very skinny and eat healthy food everyday, as well as ice-cream)

FYI, this is a size 36.5″, Mr Hubby is a size 34.5″ and I added 2″ of ease. To tell you the truth, this is the part I don’t like about this sweater, my husband looks very skinny and fragile in it, like he’s sick. So may be I should have add more ease :S

Now look at the sleeves detail! My favorite part!

IMGP8129

I might knit that sweater for me later (there are instruction for male and female, how awesome is that?) but with another yarn. I made a very poor choice for that project (I should listen more often to my friends, specially those who brought me to the Stitches Con). I wanted to try the KnitPicks products and bought some Wool of the Andes Tweed yarn. I heard a lot of good stuff about Wool of the Andes and I’m pretty satisfied with it (see my cushion), so I thought the Tweed was as good. Naaaa, mistake. I should have anticipate that when I read the description:
“Our classic worsted weight wool combines with earthy-colored flecks of Donegal tweed, which are viscose neps (think slubs or bits of lint) that are suspended in a very fine acrylic mesh which allows them to be spun alongside the wool fibers. In the yarn, you won¬ít be able to see the acrylic web at all, and the neps will appear either on the surface of the yarn or spun inside the yarn strand.”

This is exactly what I hate about that yarn. The mix is great, soft and warm, but it looks like crap, cheap product. It just a messy arrangement of contrasting wool mesh. It is very easily removable by hand and fact is, I spent wasted a lot of time removing these meshes because they look crappy once knitted, specially beige colour on a dark brown yarn. Really crappy and cheap. The worst? I have almost 3 skeins remaining. No idea what I will do with that. :S

To conclude this post: the pattern is interesting and can be great once you made your own corrections. The cardigan is a good basic and can be declined for men and women. Just avoid the crappy yarn I used! I would recommend a heavier yarn, like the one use for the model.

Ladies, any yarn recommendation?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Alors là, bravo! Splendide et la couture de la fermeture est nickel.
    La forme “skinny” est normale dans la famille… Pas de panique!
    Les am√©liorations par suppression de couture sont id√©ales et j’en ai fait autant sur d’autres mod√®les.
    Pour les √©paules, il y a aussi la m√©thode en rang raccourcis puis finition sans couture (point kitchener) ou grafting et dans ce cas c’est compl√®tement invisible.

    Reply
    • Merci Odile, mais attends de voir de plus pr√®s pour la fermeture avant de juger ! ūüėČ J’avoue, ca a √©t√© un peu casse-pied mais je m’en tire pas trop mal, mis √† part que la fermeture gondole un peu…
      Pour le reste, je ne suis pas fan du point kitchener, le 3-needle binding est tellement plus simple, m√™me si ca implique laisser trainer des mailles “ouvertes”…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

