More Renfrews

I have a secret: I’ve been sewing recently but didn’t have time to show you my last projects. So here is the time, NOW!

Just after my final exam of soil mechanics in mid-december, I treated myself with a Renfrew top. I found some great organic cotton jersey and I wanted to try a long sleeves version. And wanted to keep the large cowl.  So in just a few hours, I ended up with a great t-shirt I’ve been wearing a lot since then.

IMGP7394

As I said last time, I made it longer, this time I added 1 1/2″ at the bottom of the top and the length is now perfect for me. To my own surprise, the length of the sleeves is perfect too, which is quite unusual for me and my monkey arms.  The fabric is of very good quality, I don’t know if this has something to do with the organic cotton, and it’s warm enough for this weather! My only concern: the cowl is too rigid (because my fabric is not very stretchy) and doesn’t look as great as my first version (the fabric was lighter). Lesson learnt: don’t sew the cowl unless you have a light fabric.

And then, about two weeks ago, I went to Hancock looking for fabric for my Cambie dress (on my sewing table right now). While I didn’t find any nice rayon fabric, I found an awesome jersey fabric, stretchy and light, and bought it with the idea of another Renfrew with long sleeves. This is a lovely stripey fabric, midnight blue with black stripes. I later changed my mind and decided to sew a short sleeves top rather than having hypnotic sleeves (too much stripes makes you blind sometimes).

IMGP7388

(sorry for the silly face, that’s [unfortunately] all I have!)

I have to say, I am really glad I changed my mind and opted for short sleeves. Because sewing stripes have been a not so great experience. I quickly realized that having all the stripes correctly aligned on a seam was not an easy job. I had to hand-baste every seam (did I ever tell you how much I hate hand-basting?), so imagine if I had to do the long sleeves too? It took me some time to do it but the result is awesome! Look at that! 🙂

IMGP7385

IMGP7460

Hooray for me! 🙂

I have some fabric remaining, I might be able to sew another top but I am not sure I want to deal again with the stripe basting thing. So I am considering sewing panties, just to try and have some fun! But still, I think another Renfrew might be a great plus in my wardrobe! 😉

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Completed Project: Stripey Cowl Knit Top - The Stitcherati

Leave a Reply

