Sorry, I’m sockupied…

(or How to reuse with no shame a famous play of word…)

It took me a very long time to start knitting socks, to tell you the truth it took a very long time to just start knitting because there were voices in my head with weird messages. Like knitting is for grannies. Like knitting is so not nowadays activities, you better go out! Like knitting will take you ages and the result would look so home-made. But after reading so much awesome blogs (for instance, La Poule is a crazy knitter, I suspect she was born with needles instead of fingers…), after being so disappointed by the quality and the fit of what I bought in stores, after drooling so long on Ravelry, I decided to give it a try. And I enjoyed it.

But knitting socks was another story. My mother-in-law told me great things about it, but I was not interested in dpn. And still, for me, knitting socks was so old-fashioned. But many people over the web and in real life told about how great it was to have hand made warm socks (just read Tasia’s article to be convinced) and I was so tired to have cold feet, specially by the end of the day, that I had to try at least once.

I picked a nice and easy pattern from Knitty.com: the Sunday swing socks (to add it all, it’s free. What else should I ask for ?). The pattern is easy, just a few YO, K2tog and SSK. You have to repeat it four times and as you have four needles… (I told you, easy). For the yarn, I used the Cascade Heritage sock yarn. It’s a superwash yarn and not too pricey, which is great for a first sock project.

Here is a result!

IMGP7398

(Today I learnt how annoying and not so easy shooting socks is)

Yes, I did two pairs! This is so easy and quite fast to knit 🙂 And isn’t the pink yarn awesome?
The blue-greyish one looks softer and more comfortable because they have been washed a few times (btw I don’t recommend the use of the dryer, my socks felted a bit) while I haven’t finish yet to knit the second pink sock. I have to say, it’s great to feel my feet warm! 🙂

I think I will knit more socks in the next months, finally it’s not that hard, it’s even fun and it’s warm! And you, do you have a sock pattern that you enjoy knitting?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Odile

     /  January 29, 2013

    Super! Tu as sauté le pas! Bienvenue dans le club des pieds au chaud…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

