Treat yourself!

Because of the moving, my engineering class and my job search, I didn’t have time since mid-August to sew anything. And I became very frustrated. So frustrated that when I am not knitting, I think about dresses, alterations I could make, tops that are calling my name. Very frustrating. So I decided since I’ve been a good girl, I studied very hard (the teacher is not good, doesn’t help me), after each exam, I will have a (short) break where I will only think about myself.

Recently, as I moved closer to my jobseeker “club” (20 min walking, it’s like a dream! 🙂 ), I needed a bag to carry my notebook and hand-outs and it quickly became an obscession. So after my first exam, by the end of September, I opened the Bag Making Bible (from Lisa Lam) and I found what I was looking for.  This book is amazing, there is a ton of information about making pockets, lining, gussets, fabric to use. If you want to make your own bag, this is the book to read.

This month, after my exam was done (on the day of Halloween. I could have seriously go nut and dress as a crazy student to treat or trick), I decided to go for the Renfrew top from Sewaholic. It’s been waiting on my stash for months! This was a great project considering it took me less than 5 hours from cutting the fabric to hide the last thread, with a quick lunch. A good way to fight frustration 🙂 The pattern is amazing, my only comment is to make it longer next time -I have a very looong torso. The instruction are very clear and even with a very light stretchy jersey (and no serger), I found it very easy to sew. Thank you Tasia from Sewaholic for such a great work!

I predict more Renfrew to come in the next months. I just need to find a good colourful jersey!

Not so fast! The famous tote-bag! I love that bag so much, I carry it everywhere! Not too small, not too large.

And it’s even lined! The fabric is so cute, isn’t it?

Have a nice week-end!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

