Inspiration #2

I don’t know if it’s because I am very busy with my job search right now or because I am just back from a 5-day hiking trip in Lassen Volcanic National Park (and therefore quite busy washing dirty stinky clothes), but I don’t feel like sewing these days. I have a nice shirt almost finished which I am very excited about, but I am not sure what to sew after that. I am not even sure if I will sew, may be I’ll go for a knit.

To change my mood, I decided to have a look at Modcloth.com to find inspiration. And I found inspiration. Look at that!

The About the Artist dress. It’s gorgeous. I like it a lot, it would be perfect for fall and winter time. And I can probably use some of the patterns I own for sewing it.

And then, the Pine All Mine dress. This dress is very beautiful, classical but sophisticated. This is the kind of dress I’d like to add to my wardrobe. Have to find similar patterns, any idea ?

The Strawberry Cobbler dress. It’s very cute and it looks like a lot to the Cambie dress from Sewaholic. I already had one eye’s on this pattern, so I guess it’s really time for me to buy it!

The Thanks a Dot dress is a very fun one. I have to check if I have any pattern that could match with such a dress but I like the construction of the dress. It might be an exciting and fun project.

And you, did you find anything fancy that inspires you ?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Hi there! I found you while looking for a pattern that I could use to sew a “Pine All Mine” inspired dress for my daughter. We both love the look, but not the price. Was wondering if you had come across anything that would work. So happy to meet another seamstress…seems it’s a dying breed these days! Have a good one!

    Debbie

    Reply
    • Hi Debbie,

      Aahh, this dress is so gorgeous… Unfortunately, I’ve been very busy for the last months with my job search and volunteer activities, and didn’t have time to focus on that dress (but it will get better in a few weeks, even though I have a to-sew list waiting for a wedding). Last time I check, I was still stuck with the neckline, I don’t know how to recreate the draping. But I think there is currently a pattern for a dress from the big 4 that has a similar neckline. Let me know if you find anything, I would love to see a copycat and try myself 🙂
      Good luck!

      Reply
  2. Gen

     /  April 14, 2013

    Tagging in here so I can hopefully make a ‘Pine All Mine’ of my very own too! Love love love that dress. My size is out of stock, and I can’t quite bring myself to pay almost $200 for one, but want to wear it to a wedding later this year…

    Reply
    • Hi Gen,

      glad to hear that you too are interested in making that dress too. As I said to Debbie, I have a to-sew list for a wedding in 2 months, so that dress is not my priority but I might be able to work on it later. Since you and Debbie asked about that dress, I will try to write and hopefully sew something about it.

      Reply
  3. Shari

     /  May 20, 2013

    Hi there, I fell in love with the Strawberry Cobbler dress, and before I knew it, it was gone for good. Did you every get one… and do you “create” for other people? 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Shari,
      I didn’t order the dress since the pattern is very very very similar to the Cambie dress.
      I don’t create for other people because I don’t have time (right now, I am seriously running out of time for a wedding next month) and because I am not comfortable about fitting for someone else. But if you sew, just buy the Cambie Dress pattern from Sewaholic, this is the exact same dress, except for the fake placket in the bust and some gathers. Nothing complicated to add. And the Cambie dress is a gorgeous pattern quite easy.

      Reply
  1. Clap your hands and say Yeah! | The Belmont Sewing Club

Leave a Reply

