So you’re a knitter now ?

(en francais, plus bas)

As you read on my last post about Rosamund, I decided to take knitting seriously. So I bought a nice set of interchangeable circular needles from Knitpicks (I took the acrylic ones, because I didn’t want to invest too much and I never tried acrylic needles. There are really great), like this, I don’t have to worry about the needle size I don’t have.

The needles were delivered without any casing, so I decided to sew my own. After trying to find inspiration on various blogs, I began to cut, sew, unsew, and here is the final result !

  

You might have notice but I liiiike red and bright colors. This lovely pocket has a casing for the 9 pairs of needles I bought (ok, do not buy any extra pair of needles, you don’t have room for that !), 3 pockets for the different size of cable and a zipped pocket for extra stuff, like the end cap or a needle gauge (very useful as the size is not written on the needles). The flap that cover the needles is lined with some kind of padded fabric, to protect them from any shocks from the zipped pocket content.

I like the result, except for one detail. You might have notice that the flap with the magnet to close the casing is a bit short. I wanted it bigger but it ends up shorter. Here is my biggest drama : I can’t count in the US unit system !! Seriously ! I am not kidding ! I need a piece of 5 1/4″  + 2 seam allowance (2 x 5/8″), so I have to cut a piece of 10 1/4″. Yeah ! I tend to loose a few quarter of an inch for every piece I cut. Not to mention the number of pieces who were too short to be sewed and needed to be re-cut ! I definitely prefer the metric unit system, but my ruler is in inches, it’s just easier to use that unit (well, it’s supposed to be easier !). And you, if you are a non-imperial unit user, do you have the same issue ?

Comme vous avez pu le lire dans mon dernier post sur Rosamund, j’ai décidé de me mettre sérieusement au tricot. Je me suis donc équiper d’un jeu d’aiguilles circulaires interchangeables de chez KnitPicks, comme ca je n’ai plus à m’inquiéter de savoir si j’ai la bonne taille d’aiguilles ou pas. Les aiguilles (que j’adore, très agréables à utiliser) étaient livrées sans étui. Qu’à cela ne tienne, je vais m’en coudre un !  Après quelques errances sur le web, je me suis lancée et voilà le résultat.

    

Vous l’avez remarqué je pense, j’adore le rouge et les couleurs qui claquent. Ma pochette contient un étui pour 9 paires d’aiguilles (maintenant, je suis condamnée à ne pas acheter de taille supplémentaire !), 3 poches pour les différentes tailles de cables et un poche zippée pour ranger des trucs en plus, comme les embouts de cables ou une règle étalon pour vérifier la taille des aiguilles (indispensables, puisque les tailles ne sont pas indiquées sur les aiguilles). J’ai également doublée la partie qui se rabat sur les aiguilles avec un tissu mousse pour protéger des éventuels chocs avec le contenu de la poche zippée.

J’adore le résultat, à un détail près. Vous avez sûrement remarqué que le rabat pour fermer la pochette avec le magnet est un peu petit. Je le voulais plus grand et je me suis loupée. La faute à mon plus grand drame : je ne sais pas bien compter en inches ! Sisi, je rigole pas ! Je dois couper une pièce de 5 1/4 inches + les 2 surplus de couture (soit 5/8″chacun), ben je coupe 10 1/4 inches (au lieu de 10 1/2″) ! Evidemment, à la longue, toutes mes pièces ont été plus ou moins coupées un peu plus courtes que prévu… Mais vu que ma règle est graduée en inches, c’est plus simple (enfin c’est sensé l’être !).

  Et vous, si vous êtes aussi habitée au système métrique, ca vous arrive aussi ce genre de boulettes ?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

